Apocalypse Later | Book Reviews Mail Hal - Site Map

Hugo Award Runthrough


I read a lot. I've posted over three hundred book reviews over the last four and a half years, which averages out to over one per week. And I've been reading for a long time. My parents left books around the house so I'd pick them up and teach myself how to read. My mother was called into school when I was four because I could read before I started there and the teachers somehow felt miffed; after all, it was their job to teach me how.

My first encounter with science fiction arrived when I was ten, with The Day of the Triffids BBC mini-series, and my mother subsequently assuaged my eagerness for more with Lije Baley, Way Station and the entire run of Heinlein juveniles. I was hooked there and then. But there's a heck of a lot out there that I haven't read.

My tastes are such that I've become an expert in niches, whether in books, music or films, but I'm often blind to the mainstream. Sure, I've been reading science fiction since I was ten and I now have a teenage granddaughter, but I haven't even read all the novels that won Hugos and that's a state of affairs I really should do something about.

So I am. I'm reviewing one novel per month at The Nameless Zine, in chronological order.

To read the reviews here, just click on the covers below (which represent the editions I read) or the titles below them. These reviews also interlink if you want to read through them in order. Links to the original Nameless Zine posts are towards the top of each review.

Five Most Recent Reviews

Click on a cover to read that book's review.


1950s 1960s
Year Title Author Year Title Author
1951 1961 A Canticle for Leibowitz Walter M. Miller, Jr.
1952 1962 Stranger in a Strange Land Robert A. Heinlein
1953 The Demolished Man Alfred Bester 1963 The Man in the High Castle Philip K. Dick
1954 no award 1964 Here Gather the Stars
(aka Way Station)
Clifford D. Simak
1955 They'd Rather Be Right
(aka The Forever Machine)
Mark Clifton
Frank Riley
1965 The Wanderer Fritz Leiber
1956 Double Star Robert A. Heinlein 1966 Dune Frank Herbert
...And Call Me Conrad
(aka This Immortal)
Roger Zelazny
1957 no award 1967 The Moon is a Harsh Mistress Robert A. Heinlein
1958 The Big Time Fritz Leiber 1968 Lord of Light Roger Zelazny
1959 A Case of Conscience James Blish 1969 Stand on Zanzibar John Brunner
1960 Starship Troopers Robert A. Heinlein 1970 The Left Hand of Darkness Ursula K. Le Guin

All Covers

Click on a cover to read that book's review.

Creative Commons License
Last update: 27th March, 2020